Phone without internet for kids: which ones have no browser, and what they cost

A phone without internet has no web browser and, ideally, no app store. Of four phones checked on 2026-10-26, the Gabb Phone 4 and the Bark Phone on its $29 Starter plan have neither (Gabb, Bark). If your child needs calls, texts and location, pick one of those; if you want maps or music apps, look at Pinwheel.

Key facts

FactValueSource
Gabb Phone 4 browser and app storeNo internet browser, no app store, no social media; $249.99 plus a service planGabb
Bark Phone Starter plan$29 a month: unlimited talk and text and location tracking; no internet, app store, games or voicemailBark support
Pinwheel browser defaultNo web browser by default; Google Play can be enabled by the caregiver, with social media and adult apps blockedPinwheel UK
Nokia 2780 FlipHas a web browser; the maker's user guide has a Browse the web chapterHMD user guide
Telstra (Australia)3G closed 28 October 2024; a phone must support VoLTE, with it switched on, to make voice callsTelstra
Verizon (US)3G and 4G non-VoLTE phones lose calls, texts and data after 31 December 2022Verizon

What counts as a phone without internet?

A phone without internet has no web browser and no app store, so a child can call, text and use the camera but cannot open websites or install apps. Makers use the phrase loosely. Some phones are built without a browser. Others ship with a browser that a parent can turn off. The difference matters, because a setting can be changed and a missing browser cannot.

This page sorts four phones into three groups: no browser at all, browser hidden by default, and a basic flip phone that has a browser. All facts are as of 2026-10-26 and link to the maker’s own page. For other first-phone questions, start from the guides index.

Which kids’ phones have no browser at all?

The Gabb Phone 4 and the Bark Phone on its Starter plan have no browser, and both exclude the app store. Pinwheel ships without a browser but lets a parent switch on Google Play. The Nokia 2780 Flip has a browser.

PhoneBrowserCan a kid install apps?Group textsGPS
Gabb Phone 4None. Gabb says it “is not capable of accessing the internet”No app store; only preloaded appsOnly on the Standard plan (Gabb plans)Yes; location updates about every 15 minutes
Bark Phone, Starter planNone on StarterNo app store on StarterNot stated by BarkLocation tracking included
PinwheelNone by defaultParent approves apps from a vetted library; Google Play can be enabledNot statedYes, in the caregiver portal
Nokia 2780 FlipYesNot documented in the user guideThe Messages chapter does not mention group or picture messages (HMD)Not documented in the user guide

Trade-off: the stricter the phone, the fewer features. On Gabb, group and picture texting needs the Standard plan, so the cheapest plan is the least useful for a child in a group chat.

Can a child install apps on a talk and text phone?

A child cannot install apps on the Gabb Phone 4 or on Bark’s Starter plan, because neither has an app store. Gabb lists only basic preloaded apps such as camera, calendar, calculator and music. Bark’s Starter plan states “No internet, app store, games, or voicemail.”

Pinwheel works differently. Its pages say there is “no web browser by default,” and parents pick apps from a library the company vets. A parent can also enable the Google Play Store, with social media and adult apps still blocked. That makes Pinwheel a locked-down smartphone rather than a no-internet phone. Pinwheel’s UK pricing page notes that the Pinwheel Wireless plan includes 5 GB of data a month, so data exists even though the browser does not.

Bark’s Advanced plans ($39 to $79) add data and monitoring of texts and social media. Bark’s pricing page does not say whether those plans include app store access.

Is there a flip phone for kids with no internet?

A flip phone with no internet at all is uncommon in the models checked here. The Nokia 2780 Flip, a basic flip phone, has a “Browse the web” chapter in HMD’s user guide, so a browser is present. The guide’s Messages chapter describes sending one message to one number and does not mention group texts or picture messages.

If you want a flip phone, check three things before buying: whether the browser can be disabled, whether the phone supports VoLTE on your carrier, and whether the maker documents group texts. HMD’s guide does not answer the first and third questions. The 2780 Flip is shown here as the example of a basic phone that still has a browser. It is not a pick.

Will a talk and text phone still work after the 3G shutdowns?

A talk and text phone works only if it supports 4G calling (VoLTE) on your carrier, because the 3G networks it relied on are closed or closing in all four countries.

CountryCarrierWhat the carrier says (as of 2026-10-26)
USVerizon3G and 4G non-VoLTE CDMA network decommissioned by 31 December 2022. Non-VoLTE phones lose calls, texts and internet.
UKEE3G switched off in January and February 2024. 2G closes from May 2029. 2G, 3G and 4G non-VoLTE devices lose service entirely when 2G goes.
CanadaBell3G/HSPA discontinued in Manitoba on 31 December 2025 and nationally on 1 March 2027. Phones need VoLTE and Bell certification. A $3 a month Legacy Network Fee applies to 3G and non-VoLTE 4G devices.
CanadaRogers2G retires 30 November 2027. VoLTE is required for voice after that. Grey-market phones often lack VoLTE in Canada.
AustraliaTelstra3G closed 28 October 2024. A phone must support VoLTE and have it enabled to make voice calls, including calls to 000.

Two rules follow. First, buy a phone sold by your own carrier or listed on its VoLTE compatibility list. Second, avoid phones imported from another country, which Bell and Rogers both flag. I did not find an official statement from the makers of the kids’ phones above on VoLTE support by country, so confirm with the maker and the carrier before you order.

Where can you buy these phones?

Gabb is US only: its terms require the customer to be in the US service territory. Bark’s phone hardware ships to the US only and cannot be shipped to Alaska (Bark support). Pinwheel links regional sites for the UK, Canada and Australia, but the home page does not say where every phone ships, so check the regional site for your address.

How much does a phone without internet cost over 24 months?

Over 24 months the Bark Phone on Starter costs $946 with the handset bought outright at $250, or $1,056 with the $15 a month handset payment. Those are Bark’s own prices before tax, and the arithmetic is below.

Phone and planUpfrontMonthly24-month total
Bark Phone, Starter, handset bought for $250$250$29250 + (29 x 24 = 696) = $946
Bark Phone, Starter, handset financed$0$15 + $29 = $4444 x 24 = $1,056
Bark Phone, Advanced Wi-Fi only ($39), financed$0$15 + $39 = $5454 x 24 = $1,296
Pinwheel UK, Carer Portal onlyPhone price not listed£15.99 plus your own SIM plan15.99 x 24 = £383.76 before phone and SIM
Pinwheel UK, WirelessPhone price not listed£27.9927.99 x 24 = £671.76 before phone

Gabb lists the Phone 4 at $249.99 and says a service plan is required. Gabb’s home page shows plans from $12.99 to $17.99 a month for a new-line offer, and its plans page does not list monthly prices. On those promotional prices the 24 months would run from $249.99 + (12.99 x 24) = $561.75 to $249.99 + (17.99 x 24) = $681.75, before any activation fee and before the Standard plan needed for group texts. Treat that range as a floor.

The Nokia 2780 Flip is not priced here because no maker or carrier price was verified on the check date.

How do you choose? A checklist

Pick the phone by the answers to these five questions, in order.

  1. Does your child need group texts? If yes, Gabb needs its Standard plan, and Bark and Pinwheel do not state support.
  2. Do you want no browser at all, or a browser you control? The first points to Gabb or Bark Starter. The second points to Pinwheel.
  3. Do you live in the US? Gabb and Bark are US only.
  4. Is your carrier’s VoLTE list available for the model? If not, the phone may not make calls.
  5. What is the 24-month cost, not the handset price? Use the table above.

For questions that need a clinician, such as a child’s sleep or anxiety around phones, talk to a pediatrician. This page compares products and does not give medical advice. Return to the home page for other first-phone guides as they are published.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a phone that only texts and calls for kids?

Yes. The Gabb Phone 4 has no internet browser and no app store, and the Bark Phone on the $29 Starter plan excludes internet, the app store and games. Both still include location tracking for parents. Check the table above for the group-text trade-off.

Can a child get around a phone with no browser?

A phone built without a browser has no setting a child could switch on. A phone where the browser is hidden or blocked is different, because a parent setting controls it. Gabb states that the Phone 4 is not capable of accessing the internet.

Do flip phones for kids work on 4G?

Only if they support VoLTE. Verizon, Telstra, Bell and EE all say phones without VoLTE lose voice calls or will lose them. Check the model against your carrier's list before you buy.

Is a Gabb phone available outside the US?

No. Gabb's terms require the customer to be in the US service territory. Pinwheel links regional sites for the UK, Canada and Australia, and Bark's phone hardware ships to the US only.

Sources

  1. Gabb Phone 4, Gabb (accessed 2026-10-26)
  2. Gabb plans, Gabb (accessed 2026-10-26)
  3. Gabb terms and conditions, Gabb (accessed 2026-10-26)
  4. Pricing, Bark Technologies support (accessed 2026-10-26)
  5. International availability, Bark Technologies support (accessed 2026-10-26)
  6. Pinwheel phones (UK), Pinwheel (accessed 2026-10-26)
  7. Pinwheel home page, Pinwheel (accessed 2026-10-26)
  8. Nokia 2780 Flip user guide: Browse the web, HMD Global (accessed 2026-10-26)
  9. Nokia 2780 Flip user guide: Messages, HMD Global (accessed 2026-10-26)
  10. 3G CDMA network update, Verizon (accessed 2026-10-26)
  11. 2G and 3G switch-off, EE (accessed 2026-10-26)
  12. 3G/HSPA network discontinuation, Bell Canada (accessed 2026-10-26)
  13. 2G network retirement, Rogers (accessed 2026-10-26)
  14. Frequently asked questions about 3G closure, Telstra (accessed 2026-10-26)